Engage for Education

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

October 5, 2016 by No Comments

Following the announcement that Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa have been awarded this year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry the Minister for Further Education, Higher Education and Science, Shirley-Anne Somerville has offered her congratulations. The team won the prize in recognition for their pioneering work in nanotechnology, in particular the design and production of molecular machines. Sir Fraser Stoddart was born and raised in Edinburgh and attended the University of Edinburgh where an annual Stoddart Prize is awarded each year to recognise young researchers.

Ms Somerville said:

“I’m delighted for all the winners of this year’s Nobel Prize for Chemistry. Their work in connection with the development of molecular machines is truly ground-breaking and could have significant applications to healthcare in the future. Sir Fraser Stoddart retains strong links with the University of Edinburgh and I am sure that his success will energise and encourage students there and across Scotland.”


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *