Planning and Architecture

Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning 2018

April 4, 2018 by No Comments | Category Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning 2018

The Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning are one of the Government’s most prestigious awards. They celebrate achievements in planning, right from the detail of processing through to the bigger picture of creating places which will become the legacy of our professionalism.

SAQP2018 has 5 Categories

With 2018 being the Year of Young People, we have now introduced a fifth category. The full list of categories are:

  1. Children and Young People i.e. innovation where children and young people have made a positive impact on the planning of a place.
  2. Partnership i.e. innovation in working collaboratively, at any stage, within the planning process
  3. Place i.e. innovation in any architectural building or place (built or natural)
  4. Plans i.e. innovation in development planning ranging from strategic to settlements
  5. Process i.e. innovation in improving, or simplifying, any type of processes

The SAQP application form and guidance to applicants are now available.

The closing date is 24 May 2018.

For some inspiration, please check out our video which showcases all of the projects shortlisted in 2017.

Plus, you can view the overall winner – Orkney Islands Council for their work at Stromness.

Overall, details of the SAQP2017 projects can be found on the interactive map.

In addition to the SAQP Awards for projects, the Scottish Government also has two linked Awards – one for Personal Achievement in Planning and the other is the People’s Choice in Planning. Further details are available below.

Personal Achievement in Planning Award (PAPA)

This Award is to recognise an individual person, team, local authorities, consultants, community groups, developers, public agencies plus volunteers and voluntary organisations that have made an outstanding contribution to planning.This can be for their contribution to a particular project or for lifetime recognition of commitment to the industry.

All entries must be nominated.

SAQP2018 – PAPA – Application Form

People’s Choice Award (PCA)

The People’s Choice Award allows anyone to vote for their favourite shortlisted SAQP entry. The idea is that this Award gives everyone a chance to get involved and express their support for whatever they consider to have been a great project in 2018.

Key Stages in the Awards

Stage 1 Application

Closing date will be 24 May 2018. Applicants will have received an email notification to confirm that we have acknowledged their entry.

Stage 2 Shortlist

Entries to be assessed by the panel of independent judges..The shortlists for SAQP and Personal Achievement in Planning will be announced mid June 2018 and added to our interactive map.

Stage 3 Finalists

  • SAQP: Shortlisted applicants will be contacted to make arrangements for either a site visit or an interview date which will take place in September 2018. This stage in the Awards process provides an opportunity for applicants to expand upon their original written submission. Whether selected for a site visit or a short interview, applicants will be asked to prepare a short video which will form the basis of a brief presentation for the judges.
  • Personal Achievement in Planning: Shortlisted applicants, whether an individual or team, will be contacted to make arrangements for an interview date which will take place in September 2018. They are welcome to attend with their nominator and will be asked to prepare either a short 2-6 minute presentation or video.
  • People’s Choice Award: There will be an opportunity for the public to vote for their favourite over the summer. The poll will close in late September 2018.

Stage 4 Recommendations and Ceremony

On completion of the interviews and site visits, for the SAQP and Personal Achievement in Planning Award, the Judges will finalise their recommendations to the Scottish Ministers. If required, some entries may be contacted, over autumn 2018, to provide further photographs to exhibit at the Awards ceremony.

Judging criteria

All categories, Plans, Process, Place, Partnership plus Children and Young People, must have demonstrated innovation, impact and transferability.

  • Innovation: Demonstrate innovation, no matter how simple, in your approach or achievement and how it has improved the delivery of a project.
  • Impact: Demonstrate the impact that the project has had .
  • Transferability: Explain how the lessons learnt from the project can be or have been passed on or shared with other organisations.

In addition to the criteria (above) the work involved must be complete and have operated long enough for a fair assessment of its achievements. If part of a phased development, it is recommended that a significant phase has been completed prior to submission. Applications can be refused if it is premature.

Good luck!

We hope that the Awards will help to intensify everyone’s learning and sharing, from a whole range of successful projects – no matter what type or scale.

Tags: , ,