Planning and Architecture

Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning

The Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning are one of the Government’s most prestigious awards. They celebrate achievements in planning, from the detail of processing to the bigger picture of creating places which will become the legacy of our professionalism.

The four judges have careful considered all the applications. Having shortlisted 22 projects in the four categories of Partnership, Place, Plans and Process, they have now recognised 16 projects with awards for 2017.

Overall Winner

The Judges have recognised Orkney Islands Council with an Overall Award for its Team Stromness project. The judges considered that this was an exemplary Urban Design Framework delivering on the ground. The Council’s passion to see Stromness modernise whilst maintaining its historical elegance was to be congratulated.

You can view all of the award winner’s videos in our recent blog post – SAQP2017 Award Winners.

You can view an interactive map featuring all the 22 shortlisted projects, plus judges’ comments on the award winners in the map below:

Alternatively details of all award winners are available in this word document:

All SAQP2017 Award Winners

People’s Choice in Planning Award

Congratulations also goes to Cairngorms National Park Authority which picked up the People’s Choice in Planning Award.

We have also published details of award winners and commendations from 1999-2017 .

For updates follow @ScotGovPlanning on Twitter.


  • Debra Johnson says:

    Can you tell me the date and the location of these awards please?

    • planningarchitecture says:

      Hi Debra,

      The awards took place on Wednesday 8th November 2017 at the Balmoral Hotel in Edinburgh.


      • Debra Johnson says:

        Thank you for that. I was wondering if someone can send me a logo for the SAQP 2017 Awards?

        I work for Cooper Cromar who were the architects for Kippen Dairy and we like to keep a note of all our successes. My email address is in the form email address field.

  • Sarah Collings says:

    A list of projects with details / web-links would be helpful as it is not realistic to go through videos at work. If the name of the location of the project is given the map is not so vital for users in Scotland.

    Hoping to learn more about the winning SAQP winning projects.


    • planningarchitecture says:

      Hi Sarah,

      Thank you for your comment. We have added the All SAQP2017 Award Winners document to this post which contains information about each project and a contact who will be able to answer any specific questions you have about the project.


  • Joyce Hartley says:

    Can you please advise where I can find details of the shortlisted projects – not just their location. Thank you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *