Funeral Industry News

Upcoming Changes to Protection Levels in Scottish Local Authority Areas

June 1, 2021 by No Comments | Category Uncategorized

Today (1 June) the First Minister announced forthcoming changes to the protection levels for some areas of Scotland. You can read the First Minister’s statement in full here.

From 00:01 on Saturday 5 June the following changes will take place:

Glasgow will move to Level 2.

A group of 13 mainland authorities will remain in Level 2, these are:

  • East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Renfrewshire
  • East, North, and South Ayrshire
  • North and South Lanarkshire
  • Edinburgh and Midlothian
  • Stirling and Clackmannanshire
  • Dundee

A group of 15 mainland authorities should move to Level 1, these are:

  • Highland; Argyll and Bute
  • Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire, and Moray
  • Angus; Perth and Kinross
  • Inverclyde and West Dunbartonshire
  • Falkirk
  • Fife
  • West Lothian and East Lothian
  • The Scottish Borders
  • Dumfries & Galloway

The islands currently in Level 1 will move to Level 0.

In line with the protection levels table, this means that:

  • For the islands in Level 0, up to 200 people, with physical distancing, will be able to attend funeral services, post-funeral gatherings and funeral-related commemorative events.
  • For areas in Level 1, up to 100 people will be able to attend these events, and
  • for those areas in Level 2 the maximum attendance remains at 50 people.

We are grateful to the funeral sector for playing an important part in implementing these changes and in communicating these key messages to families you work with.

For the Scottish Government’s guidance on safely organising and attending a funeral in Scotland, please refer to our guidance.