Planning and Architecture

Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning – shortlist announcement

June 28, 2019 by No Comments | Category Uncategorized

Earlier in June, the four independent judges, Irene Beautyman (The Improvement Service), Helena Huws (Scottish Canals), Lisa Proudfoot (Scottish Young Planners Network / Montagu Evans) and Simon Rennie (Central Scotland Green Network Trust) met to consider the over 50 applications received for this year’s Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning.

Applications were considered in the five categories of Partnership, People, Place, Plans and Process. The following applications were shortlisted and progress to the next stage of interviews / site visits to take place after the Summer


  • Highland Council – New Council Offices, Fort William
  • Falkirk Council – Falkirk Town Centre Townscape Heritage Initiative (THI)
  • West Dunbartonshire Council – Office 16 Church Street, Dumbarton
  • Dundee City Council – Water’s Edge
  • Glasgow City Council – Shawlands Town Centre Action Plan
  • Fife Council – Opencase Restoration Programme
  • Highland Council – Raining’s Stairs, Inverness


  • East Ayrshire Council – Developing placemaking plans
  • West Lothian Council – Planning Guidance on Air Quality
  • North Ayrshire Council – Development Brief Prototype
  • Aberdeenshire Council – Housing Site Prospectus
  • Orkney Islands Council – Scapa Flow Aquaculture Water  Quality Impact Modelling
  • Renfrewshire Council – Foxbar Local Place Plan and “How to” Guide
  • Glasgow City Council – Glasgow City Development plan
  • Highland Council – Fort William 2040
  • Loch Lomond and Trossachs – Action Programme for the Loch Lomond and Trossachs NPA Local Development Plan


  • Inner Forth – Inner Forth Landscape Initiative
  • Moray Council – Embedding a health culture into spatial planning
  • Ironside Farrar – Stirling Enhanced Landscape Mitigation Project
  • West Lothian Council – West Lothian Partnership Centres
  • West Lothian Council – Unlocking key development sites
  • East Ayrshire Coalfields Environment Initiative – Restoring the East Ayrshire Coalfield area
  • Fife Council – Cupar CARS/THI
  • Loch Lomond & Trossachs NPA – Lochgoil Community Action Plan



  • Moray Council – Delivering Successful Places through Quality Auditing
  • Highland Council – Developer Contributions in Highland
  • Highland Council – Modernising Monitoring
  • Highland Council – Housing Delivery Team
  • Glasgow City Council – Planning Impact Reports (PIRs): Planning Enforcement, Glasgow City Council
  • The Improvement Service – A national spatial hub for digital planning data
  • Aberdeenshire Council – Improving the Planning Obligation Experience for Developers at Aberdeenshire
  • Highland Council – Highland Historic Environment Record Online


  • Falkirk Council – Carron Dams Local Nature Reserve: A Dam Fine Place
  • Aberdeen City Council – Union Street CARS – Schools Shopfront Design Project
  • Aberdeenshire Council – Pilot Youth Engagement Project

Further information is available on our interactive map.

All those shortlisted will be entered into the People’s Choice Award and you can vote for your favourite until the end of September.

For further updates look out for #SAQP2019 on twitter.